About Azores Archipelago

The nine islands of the Azores are of volcanic origin. The archipelago is divided into three geographical groups: the eastern group composed by Santa Maria and São Miguel, the central group includes the islands of Terceira, Graciosa, São Jorge, Pico and Faial and the western group comprises Corvo and Flores islands.

Brought together in an archipelago, each azorean island has its own identity. Even if they all share an extraordinary natural legacy, they also have their own unique attractions in their landscape, traditions, gastronomy and architecture. There are no words capable of describing and classifying the charm of these nine charismatic islands. They have been sculptured by ancient volcanoes and populated over the centuries by courageous and kind people. Thus the Azores are a place of varied experiences and emotions.

But each one of the islands has its own identity. The fossils of Santa Maria, the lakes of São Miguel, the caves of Terceira, the cones of Graciosa, the Fajãs of São Jorge, the mountain of Pico, the Capelinhos volcano of Faial, the volcanic chimneys of Flores and the Caldeirão of Corvo are unmistakable features.

The long list of natural parks of protected landscape, of protected flora and fauna species, of forest reserves, of geolandscape, and of sites with geological interest guarantee the preservation of a priceless natural legacy. As a form of compensation for all of this effort, the Azores are considered to be a sanctuary of biodiversity and geodiversity and one of the best locations for Nature Tourism.




The Azores are characterized by their mild climate throughout the year. The average temperature ranges from between 13.6 ºC (Minimum) and 22ºC (Maximum) throughout the whole year.

The stabilizing influence of the Gulf Stream, however, makes the sea temperature much more constant with average temperatures ranging between 16º C in the winter and 22º C in the summer, with the maximum temperatures occasionally peaking at around 24º C – 25º C.